How to Clear Browsing History in Google Chrome?
If you want to ensure that no one sees your online browsing history, or your daily online habits, you can easily clear browsing history, like it never existed,; with a few easy clicks. Google Chrome offers duration options, allowing you to clear browsing history that is just 1 hour old to the complete history ‘from the beginning of time’.
Before you clear browsing history, keep in mind that this will affect all the platforms, you have been logged into, it will delete all your cookies, bookmarks and passwords. Saved site settings will also be restored to their default structure. so all the sites for which you had saved passwords will not log in automatically anymore.
This article will take you on a step by step guide to teach you how you can clear browsing history fro Google Chrome.
How to clear browsing history on Google Chrome
Step 1 – First and foremost, you are required to Open Chrome.
Step 2 – Go to customize and control panel in top right corner, and Select History.
You can also get directed to history by simply pressing ‘Ctrl + H’, after opening Google Chrome.
Step 3 – On the left side of the history panel, click on the ‘Clear browsing Data’ Panel.
Step 4 – A ‘Clear Browsing Data’ box will appear. This includes a drop down menu, from which you can select what amount of history you want to delete. In order to delete the entire surfing data select ‘the beginning of time’. Google Chrome, also allows you to choose between the categories of history, its users want to remove, like browsing and download history. You can tick the desired category that you would like removed. Keep in mind that deleting cookies or passwords will make you log out from majority of websites and also erase your saved site settings.
Step 5 – After selecting the desired duration of time, you would want all data to be erased forclick on ‘Clear Browsing Data’. This might take you a few seconds and your online history will deleted.
How to delete a single item from history?
Apart from allowing you to clear browsing history based on time, Google Chrome also allows you to delete single or a few sources from your history as well. Here are the steps that you need to follow:
Step 1– Open, Chrome.
Step 2 – Click on the right top panel and Select history.
Step 3 – Your browsing history will appear on your screen.
Step 4 – Select the box next to the source links that you wish to delete from your history.
Step 5 – Select the ‘Delete’ button at the top right corner of your screen.
Step 6 – Confirm the process by clicking ‘Remove’.
* Incognito mode can prevent Google Chrome from saving user history.
In case you don’t want Google to save any of your browsing history, you can simply switch to Incognito mode. This mode opens another window, for you to browse online privately, without letting chrome save any data in the history. You will stay incognito only when you are using this separate window .This will allow you to browse through the internet without keeping any track of the site that you are visiting. However, this only prevents Chrome from storing your history, which doesn’t mean that other sources won’t be able to see it.
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.